A log brand is a unique symbol or mark that is placed on or in
forest products for the purpose of identifying ownership. In Idaho, all log
brands must be registered before use. Any log brand may be registered,
provided it is not identical to, or closely resembling, a currently registered
log brand. Log brand registration involves completing a "Registration
of Log Brands" form and payment of a $25.00 registration fee.
Instructions for Completing Log Brand
"Registration of Log Brands" form is a two-sided document - use the second
page only for transfer of ownership on an existing log brand.
Please type or
print legibly with an ink pen when completing the form.
written description of the brand (for example, the brand IBSP 1 might be
described as “The capital letters I, B, S, and P followed by the numeral
actual-size diagram, or make an inked impression, of the brand on the
enclosed form. Minimum size of each symbol or brand should be at least one
personal, business, or corporate name of the brand owner.
mailing address (when we send out renewal notices, we will use this
Registration of Log Brands form must be signed by the owner or authorizing
representative. Please include your title (if any) and the date of your
completed form to the office of the Idaho Board of Scaling Practices, along
with a payment of $25. The Idaho Board of Scaling Practices will record the
log brand, provided it is different from any other log brand currently
registered in our office. A duplicate copy of the approved form will be
sent to the owner as proof of registration.
GENERAL INFORMATION ABOUT LOG BRAND
forest products intending to use a log brand are responsible for creating a
diagram and a full and complete written description of the log brand.
Application shall be made on Registration of Log Brands forms and shall be
signed by the owner or authorizing representative.
applications for log brands and/or renewals shall be submitted to and
approved by the Idaho Board of Scaling Practices prior to use. Owners
should contact the Idaho Board of Scaling Practices prior to submission of
the Registration of Log Brands form to be sure the desired log brand is not
currently registered to another party. The Idaho Board of Scaling Practices
may refuse to approve any log brand that is identical to or closely
resembles a currently registered log brand. If approval is denied, the
applicant will select another log brand.
date for all log brands is February 28, five years after the year of
registration. Notification of expiration will be sent during September of
the year preceding the expiration date. A renewal fee of $25 is charged
each time that a log brand is renewed.
renew a log brand, as required by law, shall be deemed an abandonment of the
log brand. Abandoned or canceled log brands generally cannot be reissued
for a period of one year (unless authorized for cause by the Idaho Board of
comply with provisions of the Log Brands law (Idaho Code, section 38-808)
shall be deemed a violation. Any violation shall be deemed a misdemeanor,
and any person, upon conviction, shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not
less than $100 or more than $500.